Backup/Restore Strategies

You can ask general questions, share opinions or advices about FBackup
MikeyChris

Post by MikeyChris »

I have been playing with computers since 1989, so I am not a novice. Yet for some reason I am confused about the overall BACKUP-RESTORE process. I understand the concepts, but the details seem to leave me wondering what to do in the event of a hard disk crash.
For example, I use Windows 7 Pro, and have used it's backup program to make a system image on an external USB drive. I used FBackup to make a FULL BACKUP of my entire hard drive, and then use FBackup to do a nightly scheduled backup of all data files.
In the event of a hard disk failure, how would I restore from my external USB drive?
The computer came with a set of restore DVD's as well as a restore partition on the hard drive (which would be useless in the event of a hard disk failure), but I can't get the computer to boot from the recovery DVD's (yes, I have set the DVD as the primary boot device in the BIOS), so I am at a loss. Any help/explanation is welcome.

Thanx.

Adrian (Softland)

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
In case of a computer crash, you need to:

1. Install Windows and all programs

2. Restore the data files backup using FBackup.

Do you know you can monitor your backups remotely with Backup4all Monitor? You can read more here: https://www.backup4all.com/backup4all-monitor.html

MikeyChris

Post by MikeyChris »

So FBackup will only restore data files?
My problem is that the computer did not come with a Windows DVD, it has a restore partition on the hard drive. I made restore DVD's, so I can restore the computer to the original state. I was then hoping that I could install FBackup, and then restore all apps and data from the external drive using FBackup. I guess the problem with that is the catalogs for FBackup would be lost when the hard disk failed, right? If so how could I even restore the data?

Thanx.

Adrian (Softland)

Hi,