Can I modify a backup??

You can ask general questions, share opinions or advices about FBackup
darkone2k4
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:43 am

Postby darkone2k4 » Tue Jul 06, 2010 5:52 am

Hi!


Can i modify a backup??.

I need to delete some files and folders in the backup?


Is this possible??


thanks.



Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Tue Jul 06, 2010 10:36 am

Hi,


If you modify or delete some files in backup, the backup won't be the same.

When restoring, FBackup will look for the exact files as they were backed up and stored in the backup catalog.



darkone2k4
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:43 am

Postby darkone2k4 » Tue Jul 06, 2010 7:20 pm

ok.


if the files and folders doesn't exist in the zip, but exist in the catalog, the restore does it work??



Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Wed Jul 07, 2010 1:04 pm

hi,


No, the restore won't work.

Please note the backup catalog does not contain the files, but only information about the backed up files.



essex133
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 6:09 pm

Postby essex133 » Mon Aug 30, 2010 1:23 am

As you can now select whether to remove excluded or deleted from the backup, if you delete a file or folder from the source directory, it will automatically be deleted from the backup the next time you run it. So surely it makes no sense to delete certain files directly from a backup, if they are still in the source folder anyway!



fernman
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 10:00 am

Postby fernman » Thu Feb 23, 2012 5:16 pm

Still on the OP theme of "Can I modify a backup?", what if I want to ADD some files to a backup?

I'm a fairly new user of FBackup 4.6 and looking at the interface and at the wizard I can see no way of doing this, short of starting from scratch and creating a new backup that includes the additional files.



Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Fri Feb 24, 2012 7:18 pm

Hi,


@essex133: If you delete files from the backup destination, FBackup won't know that and it won't back up those files again, unless they are modified. FBackup will compare the source files with the information stored in catalog. It is supposed you don't manually delete your backup.


@fernman: Yes, you add files and folders to a backup by opening Backup Properties->Sources. Please note for the backup jobs created using a backup plugin, you cannot add new files. In such a case, you need to create a new backup job.



fernman
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 10:00 am

Postby fernman » Mon Feb 27, 2012 9:31 pm

Thank you, Admin. I'll give that a try.




Return to “General”