configuring scheduled backup

You can ask general questions, share opinions or advices about FBackup
ATP
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:37 am

Postby ATP » Fri Mar 30, 2012 11:10 am

I have installed the newest version of FB--4.7 This version had some fixes with the scheduler.


I have tried to configure the first of my schedules, and this has failed. I have twice received the dialog "error code 0x8007052E" which the archives indicated was an error associated with Vista 2 years ago. In my situation, the dialog indicated "unknown user name or bad password". Also, the archives indicate that I do not need a password to perform a backup.


What needs to be done here to rectify this situation?



Softland
Posts: 1632
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Fri Mar 30, 2012 1:43 pm

Hi,


In Backup Properties->Scheduler->Edit->Properties, select "With Built-in scheduler" option and press OK.

Do you still have the problem?



ATP
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:37 am

Postby ATP » Fri Apr 13, 2012 8:40 am

I tried this twice. The first time I had made a mistake, and the second time I attempted with a new backup. Both times, attempted after having selected "With Built-In Scheduler".


And, I am sorry to say, both times the Scheduler did not work.


What is our next step to resolution of this problem?



Softland
Posts: 1632
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Fri Apr 13, 2012 12:17 pm

Hi,


Can you create a scheduled task from Control Panel->Task Scheduler to run FBackup?



ATP
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:37 am

Postby ATP » Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:31 am

I hope that I have performed this correctly. Tried the following:


i) Went to FB Help files, checked for Control Panel, under search section retrieved the details concerning Install and Uninstall. Control Panel mentioned here gave directions that did not match Uninstall actions possible under Windows 7.


ii) Went to Windows Explorer Control Panel. Found 48 Control Panel Items, utilised the search engine, searched for 'Task Scheduler', nothing retrieved.


Then examined 'Programs & Features' & found nothing.


Examined 'Backup & Restore' Item, and under 'Backup' found--'Windows backup has not been set up'. Under 'Restore' found--'Windows could not find a backup for this computer'.


Has any of this been helpful, and contributes to a solution? What is the next step?



ATP
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:37 am

Postby ATP » Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:44 am

CORRECTION:


i) FB Help files Install and Uninstall did not appear to match directions for Install or Uninstall actions possible under Windows 7 OS


Also, I would add the following:


iii) FB Help files did not retrieve any information concerning 'Backup4all'; however, 'task scheduler' search string only retrieved information re. 'Scheduler', 'Scheduler Properties', 'Scheduler Description'. None of these pages mentioned anything as you have suggested.



Softland
Posts: 1632
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Wed Apr 18, 2012 12:47 pm

Hi,


If you have Windows 7, just press Start button and type Task Scheduler


You can also find it in Start->All Programs->Accessories->System Tools->Task Scheduler



ATP
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:37 am

Postby ATP » Fri Apr 20, 2012 7:59 am

I have examined around 4 sites so far,on how to use windows 7 task scheduler,

but it appears to me that there is important information missing ie.


http://www.ampercent.com/using-windows-7-task-scheduler-to-run-any-installed-program/7744/


It would be considered very helpful if you would explain to me, in detail and preferably via screenshots, what exactly you want me to do, and I will more than willingly do so.



Softland
Posts: 1632
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Thu May 03, 2012 4:05 pm

Hi,


The link you posted explains very clear and simple how to set up a scheduler from Windows.

If that is too difficult for you, please ask a computer specialist to assist you.



ATP
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:37 am

Postby ATP » Mon May 07, 2012 7:29 pm

In point 7, it states:


"7. Click the “Browse” button to select the program from the location where it is installed. If you want to create a task to run some other program then you should go to that program’s folder and choose its exe file."


The guidelines found within the document whose link I have attached above assume that the application is already installed on the hard disk.


I note that Backup4All is not loaded on my hard disk. To be sure, in case I missed something, I did a search on my HDD--no Backup4All retrieved.


Therefore, as I believe YOU to be expert on Backup4All, would you be kind enough to indicate to me how I am to now proceed?


Thank you.




Return to “General”