FBackup - what should I see

You can ask general questions, share opinions or advices about FBackup
MH
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 12:08 pm

Postby MH » Tue May 25, 2010 7:19 pm

I'm a little confused at what I see after doing C drive backups with FBackup.


I have a Netgear Duo mapped to drive X.


I have set Fbackup to do a mirror backup of most of my drive C every morning.


Here is what I see on my X drive after a few days of backups:

1. All of the C drive folders and root directory files that I wanted to back up.

In other words, looks just like my C drive.


2. A folder called "C" that also contains all the C drive folders and root directory files that I wanted backed up.


3. A folder called "Revision" that contains the C drive folders, but *not* the root directory individual files.


So, it seems I have my backed up files/folders three times -- in the X drive "root", within a "C" folder on X and within a "Revsion" folder on X (without the C individual root files).


Is this correct or what am I missing?



Softland
Posts: 1659
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Wed May 26, 2010 2:51 pm

Hi,


You need 3 backup jobs:


1. Create a mirror backup job and also please uncheck the "Create full paths" option from Properties->Mirror page. That will put the files in destination without creating the "C" folder


2. Create a mirror backup job with the "Create full paths" option checked. That will create in destination the backup inside the "C" folder.


3. Create a mirror backup to "Revision" destination folder. Uncheck the root files from Properties->Sources page.


Please note FBackup was not designed for system backups, but for data files backup.



MH
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 12:08 pm

Postby MH » Thu May 27, 2010 1:42 am

Not sure if I understand.


Right now I have a *single* backup job with "create full paths" checked.

According to your reply, this will create the backup in the "C" folder. Correct?

Why is it also putting the same folders in the X root?

Why is it also creating the Revision folder?


In other words, why does this single backup job create what you say takes three different backup jobs to do?


And, then why do I need another job with "create full paths" unchecked?


Also, why do I need a mirror backup to "Revision"?


What I want is my folders and subfolders from the C drive, minus what I have excluded, to be put into a "C" folder in the destination. Any subsequent changes to a backed up file would replace the previous version of the file. That's *all* that I want. Nothing outside of the "C" folder. That's all that I want.



Softland
Posts: 1659
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Thu May 27, 2010 12:10 pm

Hi,


I thought that is what you want to do, but it seems I did not correctly understood.


I cannot tell you how the "Revision" folder appeared or the other root folders.

You probably performed different backups with different configurations. You can manually delete them.


The backup job you have now should do the backup you need.




Return to “General”