How do I backup Fbackup?

You can ask general questions, share opinions or advices about FBackup
Sool
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 1:12 pm

Postby Sool » Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:08 pm

I recently had to restore my Windows installation from an image file that slightly pre-dated my most recent Fbackup data backup. Realising that this could cause problems when next using FBackup, before restoring Windows I also backed up the appdata/softland folder rom the newer version then used this to overwrite the restored version of that folder. This meant that the appdata/softland folder corresponded with the latest backup.


It didn't however work out as I expected because FBackup has since insisted on backing everything up from scratch, which took forever.


How could i have avoided this situation?



Softland
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Fri Feb 24, 2012 7:29 pm

Hi,


You restored the backup using FBackup and now the restored files are recognized as new/modified?



Sool
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 1:12 pm

Postby Sool » Sat Feb 25, 2012 1:53 pm

Thanks for taking an interest. I think I have now figured out where I went wrong.


Basically, my HD's C:System partition was failing so I replaced the drive. However, instead of cloning D:Data to its replacement I simply copied everything across. That resulted in the folders on the replacement drive acquiring new time stamps, so Fbackup perceived them as modified.


Had I instead cloned D:Data the time stamps wouldn't have changed; hence I imagine that as long as the contents of appdata/softland were in agreement with the backup drive, only the new/modified files would have been backed up.



Softland
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Mon Feb 27, 2012 1:39 pm

Hi,


If you copied the files, the creation date was different. That is why the files are backed up again.




Return to “General”