Mirror backup not adding new files

You can ask general questions, share opinions or advices about FBackup
malveaux
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 10:35 pm

Postby malveaux » Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:41 am

Heya,


I have two drives. I want to mirror them. So I add files to drive 1, and use Fbackup with a mirror backup of drive 1 to mirror to drive 2. No compression. No restrictions or exemptions either. I performed the backup and it copied everything over and the two drives had the same data set.


The problem is that when I add NEW files to drive 1, and run my backup, it does NOT copy the new files over to drive 2. Even when I look at the source (and it shows all the files with check boxes, all the new files are there, with checks next to them to include them in the backup), it doesn't copy the new files over. I do not have any exemptions to prevent these files from being copied. So I have files on Drive 1 that are not on Drive 2. And Fbackup just looks at it and says it was successful or `no files added' in the description. Seems pretty silly that it's not actually mirroring the new files over. Defeats the purpose.


So what perhaps am I doing wrong?


What I'd like to do is have drive 1 and drive 2 mirror each other, so when I add new files to drive 1 and click backup, any new files are copied over to drive 2 (but not files that already exist, I don't want to do a full backup of several terabytes each time, just new files).


Help?


Very best,



Softland
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Tue Jan 19, 2010 6:26 pm

Hi,


Please send us the last backup log from View->Job Logs->Last backup log, to info[at]fbackup[dot]com



lewmin
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:10 pm
Contact:

Postby lewmin » Mon Apr 19, 2010 11:23 pm

I would also like to use this product in a differential mode, just backup the new files that have just been edited. Scheduling a backup every hour on my transcriptionists my documents which could be as large as 600 - 800 meg and I do not want to slow down the cpu utilization, is this possible, thanks.



Softland
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Tue Apr 20, 2010 1:10 pm

Hi,


You can back up only new and modified files if you use the Mirror backup type.

If you want to use the Incremental or Differential backup types, please try our commercial application: Backup4all



jrs98
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 8:37 am

Postby jrs98 » Thu Oct 07, 2010 3:42 pm

I have the same problem as the original poster. I am backing up to a NAS. FBackup sees the new files added since the last backup, but it doesn't actually copy them over to the destination. It's frustrating, as I've downloaded the trials of your other products (BackuptoNET an Backup4all) and they do the same thign.


Interface is great, but when I add any new files in the source folder, they do not get copied over to the destination using the backup. I'm using mirror with no restrictions or exemptions. Please advise, as I love the interface and features of the program.



bacizone
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 7:58 am

Postby bacizone » Thu Oct 07, 2010 6:39 pm

I have the same problem - I completetly rearranged the folder strucutre at source, but they are not exactly mirrored...

Log sent.



jrs98
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 8:37 am

Postby jrs98 » Fri Oct 08, 2010 3:42 pm

Well, I gave up. Windows Live Mesh works great. I like the FBackup interface better but Live Mesh is getting the job done nicely. FYI.



Softland
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:38 pm

@jrs98

If you added a folder to the backup sources, all new files in that folder will be backed up. If you only picked some files from that folder, the new files won't be automatically backed up.



chevin
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:09 pm

Postby chevin » Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:40 am

chevin

as admin i added files to original source folder then did mirror of that folder again to destination but the added files dont go accross.



Bresson
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 8:15 am

Postby Bresson » Wed Feb 22, 2012 3:21 pm

Hi,

I had the same problem and solved it.

Using Properties of your Backup name, go to Mirror then in Options UNCHECK create full paths.

Enjoy !




Return to “General”