New backup when backup files already present

You can ask general questions, share opinions or advices about FBackup
Post Reply
gregthepirate
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:58 am

Post by gregthepirate »

Hi all
If I set up a new mirror backup of a folder and save it to a location in which a carbon copy of the files already exists, will this prevent FBackup from re-copying all the files across again? i.e. will FBackup scan the existing files in the backup folder and only copy across additional or altered files?
I plan to use the software to backup a substantial music collection which is already duplicated on a separate drive and would hope to avoid the many hours it would take for FBackup to run a mirror backup.
thanks


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1672
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
FBackup uses a backup catalog and it won't scan the existing files in destination to create the catalog. All files will be backed up again.


thomasdaley
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:53 am

Post by thomasdaley »

This fact is a little annoying. I had to reinstall windows and I have to re-backup 2GB worth of files that are already on the HDD.
Because of this Im looking elsewhere for software. Not good enough.
Why cant the software do a compare between file during the catalogue creation to stop time wastage.


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1672
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
If you create the copy of the files using FBackup, the files in catalog won't be backed again even if you reinstall Windows.


cmarti02
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:31 am

Post by cmarti02 »

Hi,
I was using another product, but it wouldn't backup open files. When I found FBackup, I thought it would solve this issue. But, like the two users above, I already have a complete backup on external drive. I just want move to FBackup. I have set up a Mirror backup to the external drive. But, when I start the job, it fails when it finds the first file on the existing backup. Here are the error messages at the end of the log file.
[6/23/2011 9:40:39 AM] Warning: Skipping folder C:\Oracle\ora90\sysman\admin\createoemformstables.sql

Destination error (code 0). The operation completed successfully. (G:\C\Oracle\ora90\sysman\admin\createoemformstables.sql).

[6/23/2011 9:40:40 AM] Waiting for user input

Error running backup job 'Backup C Drive of HP Laptop' from "My Backup Jobs" group.

Cannot create directory "G:\C\Oracle\ora90\sysman\admin\createoemformstables.sql\".

Retry to create directory or cancel backup?

[6/23/2011 9:40:47 AM] Continuing

[6/23/2011 9:40:50 AM] Close catalog file "C:\Documents and Settings\martincu\Application Data\Softland\FBackup 4\fkcFiles\Backup C Drive of HP Laptop.fkc"

[6/23/2011 9:40:50 AM] Error: Backup aborted. Reason:

Cannot create a file when that file already exists


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1672
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
Can you manually create this folder in destination?

G:COracleora90sysmanadmincreateoemformstables.sql
Do you have enough permissions to copy files in destination or overwrite them?


Post Reply