only back up changed files

You can ask general questions, share opinions or advices about FBackup
Post Reply
jd
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 4:20 pm

Post by jd »

using the free version, is it possible to schedule a backup of only those files that have been changed since the time of the last backup? I would like to have one major backup of all files onto an external drive, and then schedule backups of the incremental changes only.


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1672
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
Yes, you can do that if you use the Mirror backup type in FBackup.


leekaifong
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 7:37 am

Post by leekaifong »

Hi Admin,
Do you mean that Mirror backup is only backup those files that have been changed since the time of the last backup.


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1672
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
Yes, that is true. If you want to back up all files each time, you need to use the Full backup type. If you want complete Mirror backups each time, you need to use Backup4all, our commercial edition.


leekaifong
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 7:37 am

Post by leekaifong »

Hi Admin,
What do you mean complete Mirror backups each time? The Mirror backup in free FBackup version and commercial edition is differet?
I just need the Fbackup to backup the new and changes files, the rest no change can leave it, this can cut down the backup time also.
Thanks.


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1672
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
The Mirror backup type is the same in both editions: free and commercial. The commercial edition has an option to backup all files every time, not just the new and modified files.
If you want to back up only new and modified files, the Mirror backup type from FBackup should be fine for you.


leekaifong
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 7:37 am

Post by leekaifong »

OK Thanks.
Between, in the "Make mirror backup" screen, there is a options "Remote excluded or deleted files from backup." What does this option mean? I have tried to select it, there is no different in my backup destination. Please advise


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1672
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
That option will remove from destination the files you already removed from source location in order to have an exact copy of the source files.


leekaifong
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 7:37 am

Post by leekaifong »

Hi Admin,
Do you mean that if I did not select this option, the file I have removed from the source location it will still remain in the destination?


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1672
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
Yes, that is true. You can have in destination many files that can be restored even if they were deleted from sources.


Post Reply