Restore to New Hard Drive

You can ask general questions, share opinions or advices about FBackup
Post Reply
msc
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 9:10 am

Post by msc »

I had to replace my Hard Drive.

Reloaded all programs on the new HDD including FBackup.

The Backup (Destination Drive) had all files and Catalog files on it.

Pressed Restore Button.

Got error message telling me it Cannot Find Catalog Files (or something to that effect).
I managed to get the Restore Button to work by manually copying the Catalog files from the Destination drive, and pasting them into the following pathway:

C:\Documents and Settings\Home\Application Data\Softland\FBackup4\FKC Files\
Is this the proper procedure, or is there a better simpler way to restore to a new or formatted hard drive?
Thanks...


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1682
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
After installing FBackup, you need to open in FBackup the backup catalog (fkc file) from backup destination. This way a copy of the catalog will be created locally in Application Data folder. After that you can press the Restore button.


msc
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 9:10 am

Post by msc »

I see. Excellent information to have.
I also keep a "cloned" copy of my entire HDD as an emergency backup, in case of a total HDD failure. The files, of course, would not be up to date, but all the applications are there.
This cloned emergency drive would therefore contain "outdated" Catalog Files (fkc).
If I installed this cloned HDD with the outdated Catalog Files, should I delete the Catalog files on the Cloned HDD and follow your procedure above so I can do a Restore? Or can I do a restore using the "outdated" Catalog files on the cloned HDD?


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1682
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
After you install the cloned HDD, you can delete the outdated catalog and open the updated catalog from backup destination.

After that you can perform the restore.


Post Reply