btray.exe preventing shutdown

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
fullerdf
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 4:43 pm

Re: btray.exe preventing shutdown

Postby fullerdf » Wed Nov 13, 2013 6:39 am

I can but only with admin privileges.

Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: btray.exe preventing shutdown

Postby Softland » Wed Nov 13, 2013 9:01 am

Hi,

Do you have the same problem if you run FBackup using administrator privileges?

fullerdf
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 4:43 pm

Re: btray.exe preventing shutdown

Postby fullerdf » Thu Nov 14, 2013 9:19 am

I want the mirror backup to capture files that I generate like documents, photos, etc. Thus I have decided to remove the AppData folder from the backup source files. That has cured the warnings. Is there any reason that I should backup AppData?

When I was adjusting the source files, I saw that numerous NTUSER.DAT files were being backed up. I think they were added automatically by FBackup as they were generated even though I had deselected them earlier. I'm not sure why that is a default characteristic of the program.

I have therefore deselected several other folders and files under each user --- Folders included .gimp-2.6, .jinit, .thumbnails, and Oracle Jar Cache while files deselected included .recently-used.xbel, .TransferManager.db, jinitiator13117.trace, ntuser.ini and several ntuser.dat.... files. Please let me know if and why these automatically generated files are recommended (defaulted) for inclusion. For now I will leave them out.

After that change to the sources, no warnings were generated on the last backup.

However I also ran a Thunderbird backup and a backup of FBackup Configurations. I used the plugins to set up those backups. Thunderbird ran with no errors. FB Configurations did not. The error message was --
"[11/14/2013 12:25:03 AM] Warning: Skipping file C:\Users\Doug\AppData\Roaming\Softland\FBackup 5\Catalogs\FBackup Configurations(2).fkc-journal
The system cannot find the file specified"

Perhaps you have a recommendation on correcting this error. Please let me know.

Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: btray.exe preventing shutdown

Postby Softland » Thu Nov 14, 2013 1:23 pm

Hi,

FBackup will include in backup all files and folders you add on the sources page.
There are some default excluded file types, including the mentioned ones, you probably disabled the default filters from Backup Properties->Filters.

fullerdf
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 4:43 pm

Re: btray.exe preventing shutdown

Postby fullerdf » Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:15 pm

The exclude filters were all selected (checked). I guess something is wacky. At least for now the source files and the folders mentioned are unchecked. Also the filters are selected.

I'm not sure why the C:\Users\Doug\AppData\Roaming\Softland\FBackup 5\Catalogs file with -journal causes a warning. I don't see the file with "-journal" suffix but the file itself (i.e. FBackup Configurations(2).fkc) is in the folder without the suffix. I just reran the job and the same error occurred since neither I nor FBackup could find the named file with a -journal suffix.

Why was that file "added" if it does not exist? The template was not modified.

Ernur
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: btray.exe preventing shutdown

Postby Ernur » Fri Nov 15, 2013 8:52 am

Softland wrote:Hi,

Please open FBackup, go to File->Options.
On Startup page, uncheck the "Show tray icon" and press OK.
Do you still have the problem?


I'm using fbackup 5.0 -230. I don't see that startup page and "show tray icon" message. I can only see this page :


Image


I want to change a backup job but Icant do it. I am able to create and run backup jobs, but I cant modify created jobs.

Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: btray.exe preventing shutdown

Postby Softland » Fri Nov 15, 2013 2:37 pm

Hi,

The is only the start up splash. Please press Close in order to access the main application.

drake85
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:25 am

Re: btray.exe preventing shutdown

Postby drake85 » Fri Nov 15, 2013 6:54 pm

drake85 wrote:
Softland wrote:Hi,

Please open FBackup, go to File->Options.
On Startup page, uncheck the "Show tray icon" and press OK.
Do you still have the problem?


I've just made that change. Since it is not always a re-occurring issue, I'll have to wait to see if that made a difference.


Just as an update to the Softland user, my original issue with unable to shutdown correctly seems to have gone away.

Thanks.

Ernur
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: btray.exe preventing shutdown

Postby Ernur » Fri Nov 15, 2013 8:36 pm

Softland wrote:Hi,

The is only the start up splash. Please press Close in order to access the main application.


When I press Close button, the Getting Started window is being closed and no other window appears, unfortunately I cant see any other window and Fbackup application minimize itself to taskbar.

Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: btray.exe preventing shutdown

Postby Softland » Mon Nov 18, 2013 2:50 pm

Hi,

Dear Ernur,
Can you give me access to your computer using TeamViewer to see what the problem is?
Send me an email to info[at]fbackup[dot]com to discuss when I can connect.


Return to “Troubleshooting”