Can't backup to external drives

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
Post Reply
swa11ace
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 10:15 pm

Post by swa11ace »

I have 2 external drives (Y and Z). When I select an external drive I can select Y and chose a folder, then save the backup set.
When I add a 2nd backup set and try to select Z as my external drive, it reverts back to Y after pressing save.
In the summary, my 2 backup sets both point to Y. I want 1 to go to Y and 1 to go to Z.
Help would be appreciated - I love the software.
Steve


swa11ace
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 10:15 pm

Post by swa11ace »

I dug through the ini files that are created. It is using a USB Serial number - and it gets set to the same values for each backup set.
Could this be related to the fact that my 2 USB drives are plugged into a powered hub?


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1685
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
What version of FBackup do you use?

What OS do you have?


swa11ace
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 10:15 pm

Post by swa11ace »

4.6 Build 254

Windows XP Professional SP 3
Thanks.


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1685
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
I don't have an USB hub to test, please see if you have the same problem if you connect those devices (Y and Z) to the USB computer ports.


ctscomp
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 8:01 am

Post by ctscomp »

Is there a solution or workaround for this problem? I have two identical external hard drives for separate Backup Jobs every other day. Even though I see the Drive letters and select them, it reverts back to the first Drive. They are Drive M: & T: respectively. They are directly connected. Using latest version of FBACKUP.


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1685
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
We don't have such problems here.

Can you give us access to your computer using TeamViewer to see what the problem is and fix it?


ctscomp
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 8:01 am

Post by ctscomp »

What days/times are available?


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1685
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
Please send us an email to info[at]fbackup[dot]com with your timezone, to see when we can connect. We are GMT+2


Post Reply