Can't backup to external drives

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
swa11ace
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 10:15 pm

Postby swa11ace » Fri Jul 22, 2011 5:19 am

I have 2 external drives (Y and Z). When I select an external drive I can select Y and chose a folder, then save the backup set.


When I add a 2nd backup set and try to select Z as my external drive, it reverts back to Y after pressing save.


In the summary, my 2 backup sets both point to Y. I want 1 to go to Y and 1 to go to Z.


Help would be appreciated - I love the software.


Steve



swa11ace
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 10:15 pm

Postby swa11ace » Mon Jul 25, 2011 2:11 am

I dug through the ini files that are created. It is using a USB Serial number - and it gets set to the same values for each backup set.


Could this be related to the fact that my 2 USB drives are plugged into a powered hub?



Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Mon Jul 25, 2011 3:25 pm

Hi,


What version of FBackup do you use?

What OS do you have?



swa11ace
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 10:15 pm

Postby swa11ace » Tue Jul 26, 2011 5:19 am

4.6 Build 254

Windows XP Professional SP 3


Thanks.



Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Tue Jul 26, 2011 5:24 pm

Hi,


I don't have an USB hub to test, please see if you have the same problem if you connect those devices (Y and Z) to the USB computer ports.



ctscomp
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 8:01 am

Postby ctscomp » Fri Aug 05, 2011 3:06 pm

Is there a solution or workaround for this problem? I have two identical external hard drives for separate Backup Jobs every other day. Even though I see the Drive letters and select them, it reverts back to the first Drive. They are Drive M: & T: respectively. They are directly connected. Using latest version of FBACKUP.



Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Fri Aug 05, 2011 4:34 pm

Hi,


We don't have such problems here.

Can you give us access to your computer using TeamViewer to see what the problem is and fix it?



ctscomp
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 8:01 am

Postby ctscomp » Sat Aug 06, 2011 7:11 am

What days/times are available?



Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Mon Aug 08, 2011 6:08 pm

Hi,


Please send us an email to info[at]fbackup[dot]com with your timezone, to see when we can connect. We are GMT+2




Return to “Troubleshooting”