Can't install FBackup 5.0.355

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
Azuvector
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 4:44 pm

Can't install FBackup 5.0.355

Postby Azuvector » Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:23 pm

Windows 7 64bit.

The installer runs, and says it's downloading the .msi file. Partway(60%ish?) through, it just changes to download failed and presents me with the options of Try Again(Which does the same thing.) or close.

I installed 5.0.346 a few days ago, and it seemed to be working well initially, but this morning I noticed that it would simply crash on startup. Hence installing a new version.
(The old version has completely been uninstalled, and the new install is still failing.)

*edit*

Downloading the .msi directly worked. However only in Internet Explorer. Firefox would load the binary file and attempt to display it.

Link provided for the convenience of anyone else having this issue:
http://www.fbackup.com/download/setup/fbsetup.msi

*edit2*

Interesting, the .msi installs 5.0.346 still... (According to the loading splash screen.)
The auto updater(which actually runs now, since fbackup will actually display its GUI now.) seems to say 5.0.355 is there... So, trying to update that way...

*edit3*

And the autoupdate just punts me to the installer .exe again, which fails at 50% repeatedly, downloading the exact same .msi file.

Azuvector
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 4:44 pm

Re: Can't install FBackup 5.0.355

Postby Azuvector » Sat Feb 08, 2014 7:11 am

I'm curious given the 50ish views on this thread and no replies. Is everyone else having the same issue, having no issues at all(Seems really weird that it would just be me, given the symptoms.), or haven't attempted upgrading to the latest version yet?

jake7363
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 7:15 am

Re: Can't install FBackup 5.0.355

Postby jake7363 » Sat Feb 08, 2014 7:17 am

I'm having the exact same issue.

Thx,
Jake

Keith2830
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 10:43 pm

Re: Can't install FBackup 5.0.355

Postby Keith2830 » Sat Feb 08, 2014 8:59 am

I'm also having the same problem.

Does anyone know when this problem will be fixed? I need to recommend some backup software to some students.

Keith

M_EURIAT
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 10:01 am

Re: Can't install FBackup 5.0.355

Postby M_EURIAT » Sat Feb 08, 2014 10:09 am

Same problem yesterday 7 evening et this morning saturday 8 trying again from the same download.
I'll wait for the next built, like most people who visited the forum, I presume.

Windows 7 32 bits Home Edition Premium SP 1

Speig
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 10:10 am

Re: Can't install FBackup 5.0.355

Postby Speig » Sat Feb 08, 2014 10:59 am

Having exactly the same problem, starts loading but fails half way through. Have download .msi and run it but makes no difference.

tonyb007
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 11:05 am

Re: Can't install FBackup 5.0.355

Postby tonyb007 » Sat Feb 08, 2014 11:08 am

After looking for a replacement for Cobain which doesn't work on my windows 7 I found FBackup.

I hit the same problem trying to install but found this this morning which installed successfully:

http://www.fbackup.com/download/setup/fbsetup-full.exe

martin
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 11:22 pm

Re: Can't install FBackup 5.0.355

Postby martin » Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:10 pm

I'm having the exact same issue what can I do to install

Winowino
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 5:03 pm

Re: Can't install FBackup 5.0.355

Postby Winowino » Sat Feb 08, 2014 5:06 pm

The problem continues. Uninstalled older version and tried a fresh install after reboot but still will not install; now I have nothing. Would love some problem solving - obviously. :D

Azuvector
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 4:44 pm

Re: Can't install FBackup 5.0.355

Postby Azuvector » Sat Feb 08, 2014 7:09 pm

tonyb007 wrote:After looking for a replacement for Cobain which doesn't work on my windows 7 I found FBackup.

I hit the same problem trying to install but found this this morning which installed successfully:

http://www.fbackup.com/download/setup/fbsetup-full.exe


That worked. Thanks and good find.


Return to “Troubleshooting”