Cannot create a file when that file already exists

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
mburns
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 4:07 pm

Cannot create a file when that file already exists

Postby mburns » Thu Sep 26, 2013 3:43 pm

I just updated to FBACKUP 5.0 and tried to execute a back up and the backup failed with the following error message.

Cannot create a file when that file already exists

The backup was 89% complete when it aborted. I have access permission to all the files and the network storage device where the backup is
being written to. I am running Windows 7 Home Premium.

Here is the last portion of the backup logs before I had to abort the backup.

FBACKUP 4.?? I was running the latest and greatest release I just don't remember what is was had been successfully backing up the
computer every night.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

***************** LOGS *************************

[9/26/2013 10:16:57 AM] Added folder C:\Users\Michael\AppData\Roaming\Macromedia\Flash Player\#SharedObjects\KM2LKD5W\video.foxnews.com\[[IMPORT]]\players.edgesuite.net\flash\plugins\osmf\advanced-streaming-plugin\v2.11
[9/26/2013 10:16:57 AM] Added folder C:\Users\Michael\AppData\Roaming\Macromedia\Flash Player\#SharedObjects\KM2LKD5W\video.foxnews.com\[[IMPORT]]\players.edgesuite.net\flash\plugins\osmf\advanced-streaming-plugin\v2.11\osmf1.6
[9/26/2013 10:16:57 AM] Warning: Skipping folder C:\Users\Michael\AppData\Roaming\Macromedia\Flash Player\#SharedObjects\KM2LKD5W\video.foxnews.com\[[IMPORT]]\players.edgesuite.net\flash\plugins\osmf\advanced-streaming-plugin\v2.11\osmf1.6\AkamaiAdvancedStreamingPlugin.swf
Destination error (code 183). Cannot create a file when that file already exists. (\\GOFLEX_HOME\GoFlex Home Backup\Michael's Files\C\Users\Michael\AppData\Roaming\Macromedia\Flash Player\#SharedObjects\KM2LKD5W\video.foxnews.com\[[IMPORT]]\players.edgesuite.net\flash\plugins\osmf\advanced-streaming-plugin\v2.11\osmf1.6\AkamaiAdvancedStreamingPlugin.swf).
[9/26/2013 10:19:44 AM] Close catalog file "C:\Users\Michael\AppData\Roaming\Softland\FBackup 5\Catalogs\Full Backup(3).fkc"
Backup aborted. Reason:
Cannot create a file when that file already exists

Softland
Posts: 1633
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: Cannot create a file when that file already exists

Postby Softland » Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:36 am

Hi,

Please create a new backup job with a different name and try again, do you still have the problem?

gump
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 6:59 pm

Re: Cannot create a file when that file already exists

Postby gump » Fri Sep 27, 2013 2:58 pm

Micheal, I can see where you problem is.
It is because you watch Fox News. That site is full of right-wing viruses... :)

mburns
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 4:07 pm

Re: Cannot create a file when that file already exists

Postby mburns » Mon Sep 30, 2013 2:52 pm

I created a new back up and still get the same error message.

I am beginning to suspect that the file/path is too long although I did not have this issue with FBACKUP4.

\\GOFLEX_HOME\GoFlex Home Backup\Michael's Files\C\Users\Michael\AppData\Roaming\Macromedia\Flash Player\#SharedObjects\KM2LKD5W\video.foxnews.com\[[IMPORT]]\players.edgesuite.net\flash\plugins\osmf\advanced-streaming-plugin\v2.11\osmf1.6\AkamaiAdvancedStreamingPlugin.swf

is the file it fails on EVERY time.

Since the file/path is created by an application I do not have the luxury of changing it.

Softland
Posts: 1633
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: Cannot create a file when that file already exists

Postby Softland » Wed Oct 02, 2013 9:03 am

Hi,

Can you manually copy that file in "c:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\Temp\Softland" folder?

cmedia
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 9:56 am

Re: Cannot create a file when that file already exists

Postby cmedia » Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:07 am

I am having the same problem and also did not have it in FBackup 4. It's too time consuming to have to find and locate every error that now occurs, especially the abort. Is this something that is going to be fixed or should i just reinstall FB4?

Softland
Posts: 1633
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: Cannot create a file when that file already exists

Postby Softland » Mon Oct 07, 2013 2:39 pm

Hi,

Mburns deleted the KM2LKD5W folder and the problem was solved.

cmedia
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 9:56 am

Re: Cannot create a file when that file already exists

Postby cmedia » Fri Oct 11, 2013 1:33 am

I could delete every folder that either causes an abort or a warning. I now get messages that I have 2371 warning. I had no warnings with Fbackup 4. It's time to return to the earlier version.

waltere
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 6:46 pm

Re: Cannot create a file when that file already exists

Postby waltere » Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:44 pm

I am having the same problem with backup job aborting with message "Cannot create a file when that file already exists." I am running FB5 230 on Windows 7

In the log file I found file names and paths duplicated several times as shown below. I am confused about two things (at least)...
1) In two cases the file path and name are repeated but the back up continued. In one case the backup aborted on the third encounter with the same path/filename. Why are two duplicates OK and not three?
2) Why does the back up job go over the path again and encounter the file multiple times? It's only on the source drive one time,

[11/11/2013 10:00:13 AM] Found file C:\Users\Walt Eldredge\Desktop\Transferred from work\Previous\__NOT CURRENT\GMT Archives\GMT Mech Portfolio Management\
TML-145 Driving Continuous Improvement\Business process reengineering - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.htm


[11/11/2013 10:00:13 AM] Found folder C:\Users\Walt Eldredge\Desktop\Transferred from work\Previous\__NOT CURRENT\GMT Archives\GMT Mech Portfolio Management\
TML-145 Driving Continuous Improvement\Business process reengineering - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia_files

[11/11/2013 10:00:13 AM] Found folder C:\Users\Walt Eldredge\Desktop\Transferred from work\Previous\__NOT CURRENT\GMT Archives\GMT Mech Portfolio Management\
TML-145 Driving Continuous Improvement\Business process reengineering - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia_files


[11/11/2013 10:07:22 AM] Added file C:\Users\Walt Eldredge\Desktop\Transferred from work\Previous\__NOT CURRENT\GMT Archives\GMT Mech Portfolio Management\
TML-145 Driving Continuous Improvement\Business process reengineering - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.htm


[11/11/2013 10:07:22 AM] Added folder C:\Users\Walt Eldredge\Desktop\Transferred from work\Previous\__NOT CURRENT\GMT Archives\GMT Mech Portfolio Management\
TML-145 Driving Continuous Improvement\Business process reengineering - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia_files


[11/11/2013 10:15:27 AM] Close catalog file "C:\Users\Walt Eldredge\AppData\Roaming\Softland\FBackup 5\Catalogs\Laptop Backup - Walt Eldredge(1).fkc"
Backup aborted. Reason:
Cannot create a file when that file already exists
Backup aborted at 11/11/2013 10:15:27 AM with 1 error(s), 0 warning(s)

Softland
Posts: 1633
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: Cannot create a file when that file already exists

Postby Softland » Tue Nov 12, 2013 3:48 pm

Hi,

Do you have another file "Laptop Backup - Walt Eldredge.fkc" in destination?


Return to “Troubleshooting”