Cannot restore - backup is empty

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
coppo23
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 9:26 am

Postby coppo23 » Sun Aug 08, 2010 4:39 pm

Running the latest fbackup on whs doing weekly backups - all reported as OK. Using an external drive and the backups folder is now about 300GB - the fkc file is about 6MB and appears both at the root of the ext drive folder and also in

C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Softland\FBackup 4


When I click the restore - I am told the backup is empty. I have removed/turned off all filters. I have tried specifically opening the fkc files on ext drive and also docs and settings locxation and get the same error in both cases.


Can anyone help?


Regards


Coppo



Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:24 pm

Hi,


Please send us the backup catalog from the backup destination to info[at]fbackup[dot]com



coppo23
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 9:26 am

Postby coppo23 » Tue Aug 10, 2010 12:09 am

Thanks. I now think it may be a filter issue so am trying again before sending the file to you. Just running another backup with all the filters deleted and it seems to be taking forever - which is a good sign! I will post the result of a restore when the backup has completed.



Hans van Dongen
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 2:07 pm

Postby Hans van Dongen » Mon Jan 03, 2011 9:18 pm

Hello,


When I try to restore I get the message "back-up is empty"


Pls help me.


Regards



Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Tue Jan 04, 2011 9:11 pm

Hi,


Please delete the empty backup job and open in FBackup the backup catalog (.fkc file) from destination. After that you can press Restore.



Hans van Dongen
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 2:07 pm

Postby Hans van Dongen » Wed Jan 05, 2011 1:13 pm

Thank you very much


regards



Rapheus
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 3:04 pm

Postby Rapheus » Thu Jan 13, 2011 10:06 pm

I've just today run into this same issue. I pointed Fbackup to the .fkc file that I want to restore from, but I keep getting a message stating the 'backup is empty'. I could really use some assistance with this one.


Thanks



Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Mon Jan 17, 2011 8:38 pm

Hi,


The .fkc file exists in destination because it was created at the end of the backup. It must contain data inside.

Please make sure you open the correct .fkc file from the backup destination.

It cannot be empty. Please send us the .fkc file you are trying to open.

Zip the file and send it to info[at]fbackup[dot]com




Return to “Troubleshooting”