Catalog file won't take name of new backup job

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
RBlackham
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 12:26 am

Catalog file won't take name of new backup job

Postby RBlackham » Thu May 07, 2015 1:54 am

How do you get the catalog file to re-name?
I started years ago with FBackup using a Seagate external drive and named the job Seagate200.
Recently the old Seagate drive died and I replaced it with a Buffalo drive.
Started a new backup job and named it Buffalo500.
New job runs ok but persists in naming its backup catalog as "Seagate200". Deleting the catalog doesn't help, re-naming it doesn't help, the job called Buffalo500 keeps reinstating its own catalog as "Seagate200".
Does anybody know what is going on here? Have I missed a setting somewhere?

Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: Catalog file won't take name of new backup job

Postby Softland » Fri May 08, 2015 10:35 am

Hi,

The rename from Backup Properties->General page should work fine.
Please try to rename it to something else, does it works?

RBlackham
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 12:26 am

Re: Catalog file won't take name of new backup job

Postby RBlackham » Wed May 20, 2015 3:09 am

The process partly works as it should, but doesn't solve the issue. (I am using the latest version 5.4 Build 784)

More information: Renaming the backup job renames the catalog file in the C:\Users … AppData…Catalogs folder, as it should.

The backup.log text file shows the new catalog filename throughout (and the old catalog filename appears nowhere in the log).

But the job also creates on the external drive a duplicate catalog (exact same new date stamp and bytes), but this external drive catalog copy retains the old job name. Even if I rename it, even if I delete it, the next backup creates on the external drive a new .fkc file with the old job name. Not the "previous" name, but the original name from a year ago.

Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: Catalog file won't take name of new backup job

Postby Softland » Thu May 21, 2015 8:08 am

Hi,

The rename of the catalog file in destination does not work for external/removable drives.
You need to create a completely new backup job not a copy of the old one.


Return to “Troubleshooting”