Every time backup is repeating full backup

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
rockford007
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2019 7:45 pm

Every time backup is repeating full backup

Post by rockford007 »

Hello,

I tried to find if similar topic was discussed before. I am using mirror backup from one 4 TB HDD (having 50% data) to another 5TB HDD, took me about 6 Hrs for the first time backing up, everything seems fine :) .
Next day I added one image file in a folder of the source drive. I was having impression that if I click back up it should back up only that file, but that is not what is happening :? . Instead it is taking another 8 hours to back everything up again :x . More over if I then want to cancel the job, sometime it is rolling back files and deleting them from destination drive. Did I miss any setting?

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1732
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: Every time backup is repeating full backup

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,

Please send us the last backup log and the .fkc catalog file from the backup destination to info[at]fbackup[dot]com, to see the exact configuration you use.

ccr
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 12:44 pm

Re: Every time backup is repeating full backup

Post by ccr »

I am having the same problem with version 9 on three external backup drives, but not two others. What is the solution? The same settings are used for all drives.

omnimedia
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 3:18 pm

Re: Every time backup is repeating full backup

Post by omnimedia »

Hi,

Same for me since I've upgrade to version 9 too

ccr
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 12:44 pm

Re: Every time backup is repeating full backup

Post by ccr »

On investigation, on the repeating drives there are no jobs to test listed. There are jobs listed on those drives which do not repeat.

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1732
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: Every time backup is repeating full backup

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

@ccr:

That means no backup executions exists for those jobs?
In such a case, a new complete backup will be executed. But the new backup should then appear in the backups list (when pressing Test). Is the backup executed with warnings or errors?

ccr
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 12:44 pm

Re: Every time backup is repeating full backup

Post by ccr »

No backups in the list and no warnings or errors.
Scheduled exactly as with the successful drives' backups.

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1732
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: Every time backup is repeating full backup

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Can you give me access to your computer using TeamViewer, to see what the problem is?
Please send us an email to info[at]fbackup[dot]com to discuss when we can connect.

ccr
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 12:44 pm

Re: Every time backup is repeating full backup

Post by ccr »

Thanks, but not prepared to do that.
I have uninstalled and reinstalled 9 repeatedly, but although there are now jobs to test, the same backup process is repeating itself.
Also, on reinstalling 9, the jobs are reappearing in the new installation. How do I delete the jobs and start completely afresh - there are fourteen jobs in the taskbar notification!?

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1732
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: Every time backup is repeating full backup

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,

Please close FBackup and rename this folder:
"C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Softland\FBackup 9\"
Open again FBackup.
It will start with no jobs.

Post Reply