FBackup dashboard will not open

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
Eli
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 12:51 am

FBackup dashboard will not open

Postby Eli » Sat Jun 07, 2014 12:59 am

I have used FBackup for many years now when i try to open the dashboard to review or edit my logs or schedules the window flashes "Loading App Information" and disappears. I see it in the Startup bar and i can close it, but never expand to see. I can also see it in the icon that the backups were scheduled but can't open it from there either place. I uninstalled and reinstalled, still the same problem. It almost seems like its open in an area i can't see. Any way to restore to the screen would be helpful.

Softland
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: FBackup dashboard will not open

Postby Softland » Tue Jun 10, 2014 11:01 am

Hi,

Please close FBackup.exe process from Task manager and rename the "C:\Users\<user name>\AppData\Roaming\Softland\" folder.
Open again FBackup and see if you still have the problem.

Eli
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 12:51 am

Re: FBackup dashboard will not open

Postby Eli » Tue Jun 10, 2014 1:23 pm

Thank you for the reply. FBackup only appeared on TaskManager for a few secs when i tried to open it from the Startup icon, but would not quit when i tried. The folder could not be renamed due to an unknown process that was using it. I also tried to stop the service but that did not work. I finally uninstalled FB5, renamed the folder and then reinstalled. The desktop know opens correctly but i have lost my backup setups. Can i copy the contents of FBackup5 back into the new folder?

Softland
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: FBackup dashboard will not open

Postby Softland » Thu Jun 12, 2014 9:02 am

Hi,

You can open the .fkc catalog files from the renamed folder or from the backup destination, to recreate the backup jobs in FBackup.


Return to “Troubleshooting”