FBackup hangs on new install Win8, side-by-side error

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
Post Reply
krather
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:36 pm

Post by krather »

Downloaded newest version to a new HP Pavilion Vision PC with Windows 8 installed. Install runs OK with few questions regarding "OK to update xxx". I try to run FBackup from desktop icon, and I just get a hung process, which then goes to a hung screen or black screen, and the whole PC hangs, if I wait long enough (requires a power off to recover, drive light lit). I checked the event log, but nothing specific noted there. I downloaded and tried install multiple times with the same effect. I try uninstall, says app files are corrupt.
I tried going to the Softland directory and running FBackup directly, error indicates a "side-by-side" error, and recommends running sxstrace.
I run older version on XP Pro machines with no issues.


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1766
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
FBackup works fine here under Windows 8

Please send me a screenshot with the errors you receive, to info[at]fbackup[dot]com

Do you know you can monitor your backups remotely with Backup4all Monitor? You can read more here: https://www.backup4all.com/backup4all-monitor.html

krather
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:36 pm

Post by krather »

Admin,
Please note I sent you a personal email with screenshots, maybe it will be helpful. It appears, after additional troubleshooting, that disk utilization spikes to 100% as soon as FBackup is executed.
Thanks,

krather


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1766
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
Please try to rename the FBackup settings folder from: C:\Users\user name\AppData\Roaming\Softland\FBackup 4

Do you know you can monitor your backups remotely with Backup4all Monitor? You can read more here: https://www.backup4all.com/backup4all-monitor.html

jean
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:38 am

Post by jean »

HI I just installed windows 8 and have not been able to use Fbackup on it either and am having the same problem as krather.
any solutions? I like the program but may have to look elsewhere..


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1766
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
Please install Debugview application (freeware) to monitor what FBackup is trying to do.

We don't have such problems here.

Do you know you can monitor your backups remotely with Backup4all Monitor? You can read more here: https://www.backup4all.com/backup4all-monitor.html

Post Reply