issue with FBackup and network

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
ianhaney1
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 1:05 pm

issue with FBackup and network

Postby ianhaney1 » Tue Sep 01, 2015 1:08 pm

Hi

I have been using FBackup for quite a while and is really good software and I had windows 7 64 bit and got the windows 10 upgrade and installed it all fine and ever since I have upgraded to Windows 10, FBackup keeps failing to backup to my network drive folder

it keeps asking for my crendentials and putting them in but keeps saying is incorrect, I am out of of ideas in what to try, can anyone help please

Thank you in advance

Kind regards

Ian

Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: issue with FBackup and network

Postby Softland » Tue Sep 01, 2015 2:04 pm

Hi,

Do you have the latest version of FBackup 5.4.813 installed?
If not, please download and install it from our website.

ianhaney1
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 1:05 pm

Re: issue with FBackup and network

Postby ianhaney1 » Tue Sep 01, 2015 2:34 pm

Hi Softland

Thank you so much for the reply, appreciate it

Yeah I have the version 5.4.813 installed

I even unistalled it and installed it again just in case that did the trick but still the same

Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: issue with FBackup and network

Postby Softland » Wed Sep 02, 2015 11:07 am

Hi,

Please try to map the network drive and use the mapped drive as backup destination in FBackup.

ianhaney1
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 1:05 pm

Re: issue with FBackup and network

Postby ianhaney1 » Wed Sep 02, 2015 2:00 pm

Hi,

Please try to map the network drive and use the mapped drive as backup destination in FBackup.


How do I do the above? sorry

ianhaney1
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 1:05 pm

Re: issue with FBackup and network

Postby ianhaney1 » Wed Sep 02, 2015 2:18 pm

I have mapped the drive on the officeserver-pc as z drive and has appeared on there but I can't access it still from my PC called ian-pc, it keeps popping up with enter network credentials box?

ianhaney1
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 1:05 pm

Re: issue with FBackup and network

Postby ianhaney1 » Wed Sep 02, 2015 2:21 pm

I have uploaded a screenshot of it on what is happening on my PC
Attachments
screenshot-issue-1.jpg
screenshot-issue-1.jpg (230.59 KiB) Viewed 1584 times

ianhaney1
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 1:05 pm

Re: issue with FBackup and network

Postby ianhaney1 » Wed Sep 02, 2015 2:31 pm

Sorry I have uploaded a second screenshot of it asking for my network credentials but not got a clue what they are and never had to enter them before, I am now on Windows 10 Home
Attachments
screenshot-issue-2.jpg
screenshot-issue-2.jpg (217.59 KiB) Viewed 1581 times

Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: issue with FBackup and network

Postby Softland » Thu Sep 03, 2015 1:01 pm

Hi,

If you mapped the network drive as Z:, then why do you try to add it using the UNC path?
Please go to Local destination page and select the Z: drive as destination.

ianhaney1
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 1:05 pm

Re: issue with FBackup and network

Postby ianhaney1 » Fri Sep 04, 2015 8:23 am

Ahh ok

will try that, also another issue is when I start up FBackup, it sometimes comes up with the following

do you want to restart the IPC server
there was a error while trying to connect to the IPC server
cannot connect pipe client

is that a easy fix, could it be it don't like Windows 10?


Return to “Troubleshooting”