Logs won't open from within FBackup

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
MiG
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:43 pm

Post by MiG »

As per the topic. If I right click on a job -> job logs -> last backup log (same for the view menu -> job logs etc), nothing happens. I assume something's broken, but for as far as I can see, the FBackup options don't feature anything that could affect this. What gives?


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1672
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
Do you have the same problem after you restart your computer?


MiG
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:43 pm

Post by MiG »

Yes, it's been like this for a while.


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1672
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
Do you have the same problem if you create a new backup job?

We do not have such problems here and no other client reported similar problems.


MiG
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:43 pm

Post by MiG »

Just created a test job, same result I'm afraid.

If I open the log file from explorer it just works however, so the file association is fine (at least where windows itself is concerned).
How exactly does Fbackup try to open these files? If I know more details about how that particular function operates, I might be able to pinpoint the problem and find a solution.


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1672
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
Does the path of the file contains characters different than English?
Can you give me access to your computer to see what the problem is?


MiG
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:43 pm

Post by MiG »

Some of the files that get backupped themselves contain non standard characters, but I assume that shouldn't affect opening subsequent log files.

The path to the log files does contain some spaces, but seeing that that's the default path for log files, that shouldn't really be an issue either, correct?
C:\Documents and Settings\Username.Computername\Application Data\Softland\FBackup 4\Logs\

(I'm running WinXP x86 SP3 btw)
As for access, I'm currently under a confidentiality agreement so I'm afraid I'm not allowed to, at least not until the end of the year. If you could let me know what to poke at, I'd be happy to do so though :)


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1672
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
I just wanted to check the ini files have the correct paths inside.

Do you have the same problem if you try to open the destination folder, catalog folder, initialization folder or the application log?


MiG
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:43 pm

Post by MiG »

The folders open fine, that's currently how I get to the logs. The application log however doesn't.


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1672
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
Please close FBackup, go to C:/Users/user name/AppData/Roaming/Softland/FBackup 4

open FBackup.ini and make sure the LOG_DIR_PATH points to the correct location.

If not, type the correct location and Save the ini file.
Open FBackup and see if the problem still exists.


Post Reply