Logs won't open from within FBackup

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
MiG
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:43 pm

Postby MiG » Tue Jul 31, 2012 3:19 pm

As per the topic. If I right click on a job -> job logs -> last backup log (same for the view menu -> job logs etc), nothing happens. I assume something's broken, but for as far as I can see, the FBackup options don't feature anything that could affect this. What gives?



Softland
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Wed Aug 01, 2012 12:31 pm

Hi,


Do you have the same problem after you restart your computer?



MiG
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:43 pm

Postby MiG » Thu Aug 02, 2012 10:17 am

Yes, it's been like this for a while.



Softland
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Thu Aug 02, 2012 1:12 pm

Hi,


Do you have the same problem if you create a new backup job?

We do not have such problems here and no other client reported similar problems.



MiG
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:43 pm

Postby MiG » Thu Aug 02, 2012 1:32 pm

Just created a test job, same result I'm afraid.

If I open the log file from explorer it just works however, so the file association is fine (at least where windows itself is concerned).


How exactly does Fbackup try to open these files? If I know more details about how that particular function operates, I might be able to pinpoint the problem and find a solution.



Softland
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Fri Aug 03, 2012 4:22 pm

Hi,


Does the path of the file contains characters different than English?


Can you give me access to your computer to see what the problem is?



MiG
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:43 pm

Postby MiG » Fri Aug 03, 2012 7:30 pm

Some of the files that get backupped themselves contain non standard characters, but I assume that shouldn't affect opening subsequent log files.

The path to the log files does contain some spaces, but seeing that that's the default path for log files, that shouldn't really be an issue either, correct?


C:\Documents and Settings\Username.Computername\Application Data\Softland\FBackup 4\Logs\

(I'm running WinXP x86 SP3 btw)


As for access, I'm currently under a confidentiality agreement so I'm afraid I'm not allowed to, at least not until the end of the year. If you could let me know what to poke at, I'd be happy to do so though :)



Softland
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:54 am

Hi,


I just wanted to check the ini files have the correct paths inside.

Do you have the same problem if you try to open the destination folder, catalog folder, initialization folder or the application log?



MiG
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:43 pm

Postby MiG » Mon Aug 06, 2012 1:38 pm

The folders open fine, that's currently how I get to the logs. The application log however doesn't.



Softland
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Mon Aug 06, 2012 4:45 pm

Hi,


Please close FBackup, go to C:/Users/user name/AppData/Roaming/Softland/FBackup 4

open FBackup.ini and make sure the LOG_DIR_PATH points to the correct location.

If not, type the correct location and Save the ini file.


Open FBackup and see if the problem still exists.




Return to “Troubleshooting”