mirror backup doe not delete obselete files on target drive

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
jet
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 9:12 pm

Postby jet » Fri Apr 03, 2009 4:33 am

I for one like the fact that the backup is a holding place for all files and that deletes do not follow to the backup. Since you can add a "delete the backup" before you do a backup, it seems there's an option for folks who do not like this feature. I think the main argument revolved around vocabulary and use of the word "mirror".


I like the product, its my new backup software. If you change it, please don't remove features, just add new ones (or change the vocabulary to suite the pedantic whiners).



ruudboek
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 6:42 pm

Postby ruudboek » Wed Apr 15, 2009 11:25 pm

I've tried so many backup utilities and all of them had something missing.

Fbackup is almost the backup utility i would actually use.

It's lightning fast, it has VSS support and a very easy to understand interface.

The only option that i miss is this option to remove deleted files from the backup.


I know this is freeware and do appreciate all the hard work that went into it, but will it be worth waiting for that option to be implemented?

Or is this going to be dropped down the todo list and take years for it to be finally implemented (yes, i've seen this happen a lot)?



nicedreams
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 8:33 pm

Postby nicedreams » Sun Apr 19, 2009 12:52 am

Yes pleeeease add a feature to delete files on the mirror backup like everyone else is asking. Pleeeeease don't take forever to do it. This is the only thing holding me back from using it full time, but has been working great for family.



fno
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:51 am

Postby fno » Mon Jun 15, 2009 7:11 pm

I'm looking for a backup software that is able to make an mirrored backup, but instead of deleting the file at the destination/target (i.e. the backup directory) when the file at the source has been deleted, I would like to move the file out from the destination/target to a chosen directory (for example a dir named "DELETED_FILES" in the root of my destination folder or drive).


In this way I have an exact mirror of my source without losing any unintentional deleted files (as a result of a human error, virus or whatever)!


Is it, by any chance, possible for you to implement such a feature in Fbackup? Or do you perhaps know any other software that include this feature?


Regards,


Nik



Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Thu Jun 18, 2009 11:20 am

Hi,


There isn't such a feature in FBackup, to move the files in destination to another folder. At this moment, we don't have plans to add this feature. I cannot recommned you any other product to perform this operation.

However I suggest you to create a batch file to perform this action before the backup execution.



Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Thu Jul 02, 2009 3:12 pm

Hi,


A new option was added in FBackup to remove excluded or deleted files from backup.

By default it is unchecked, which means the files in backup will be removed only if the user chooses that.

The option can be found in Backup Properties (Ctrl+P)->Type->Mirror page.



crazygoose
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:47 am

Postby crazygoose » Tue Jul 28, 2009 5:52 pm

Hi,


Using the latest build with XP.


If I set up a backup using a plug in then deleted files do not get deleted from target. If I set the backup manually it works really well.


Any ideas why it wont work with a plug in?


Regards



Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Wed Jul 29, 2009 4:02 pm

Hi,


We found the problem and we will fix it.



DmitryP
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 3:24 pm

Postby DmitryP » Sun Oct 30, 2011 2:14 am

One day I paid attention that FBackup works too fast. I start to check and found that backup disk letter changed by Windows, and FBackup lose it.

I fixed rule to work with new letter, but backup continue to fail.

The reasone was that no space left on backup disk. It is strange, because backup disk is bigger then original partition.

It happen because many files changed during this time, and FBackup fail to remove removed files.

I deleted manualy some folders, and FBackup reported success. But many deleted files and folders left in Backup.

Run FBackup 10 times, played with options, read forums, upgraded version from 4.5 to 4.6. Nothing help. I see that new added and deleted files do removed from backup, but old files left. The same problem happen if I remove some file from Backup. FBackup fail to repair it.

The only solution I see is to remove all backup, and set it from scratch.



Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Tue Nov 01, 2011 3:42 pm

Hi,


I need to make sure FBackup uses the same original catalog as when you change the backup destination, the catalog is deleted and a new one is created. There is a warning for that.


If a new catalog was created, the old files are not related to the new backup job and they are simply ignored as FBackup does not delete the "extra" files from destination.


You should never manually remove the backed up files from destination to see if FBackup will "repair" them as this is not going to happen. FBackup uses the backup catalog to determine which files to be backed up. It is supposed the files are not manually removed from destination. (Please note I am not talking about the old backup files which are ignored).




Return to “Troubleshooting”