network name is no longer available

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
wiinga
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 8:30 pm

Postby wiinga » Tue May 15, 2012 3:45 am

I've been trying to use FBackup on our network but it never makes it through a backup. Each time I get a

"The specified network name is no longer available (While writing compressed file in zip)"

error. I have a 1TB hard drive attached as a NAS to a Linksys E3000 router. I've tried smaller and smaller backups but still hit the error. Possibly other network traffic? I do manually copy files to the drive without any issues (Windows 7, Dell with AMD Phenom II, 8GB RAM, 1TB drive. I'm not sure what other information is important and what's a waste of time.



Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Tue May 15, 2012 6:59 pm

Hi,


Do you use UNC path or mapped drive path for destination?



wiinga
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 8:30 pm

Postby wiinga » Tue May 15, 2012 9:59 pm

A UNC path (\\router name\shared folder\folder name). I get from 12% to 50% into the backup when it just stops and I get the same error. Just using the default plug-ins and backing up mixed file types. Thanks!



Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Mon May 21, 2012 7:19 pm

Hi,


For such large backups, I suggest you to try our commercial edition Backup4all which has in Backup Properties->Compression page an option to "Use alternate zipping mode"




Return to “Troubleshooting”