Scheduled Backup asking if you want to backup.

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
smc1979
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 10:57 am

Postby smc1979 » Fri Apr 20, 2012 6:07 pm

I installed fbackup on a few customer machines. I have it set to run every day via the windows task scheduler.


Some days it backups up fine, most days it has a message box asking the user if they want to backup.


Very annoying as I can not find any setting for it and the fact it is running from the windows task scheduler. This is with the newest 4.7 version. When I run it from the task scheduler manually it doesn't ask. It seems to happen when the system has been idle for a while and the backup runs.


Also a side note. I always use the mirroring option. I had a customer call me saying the backups where taking 14 hours to complete (They have been using fbackup for a year)


I have it backing up only their profile. I go and look and the backup is up to 2 million files.


Why? Because of the internet cache files. I didn't see the check box to remove files from the backup when they are deleted. After all it is a mirror, it should be a mirror image. So the cache files where being backed up but not cleared.


After putting a check on the backup cleared it all up and backups now take only an hour.


It would be a very good idea to have the checked by default. After all isn't a mirror suppose to be a mirror?


Thanks!

Shane



Softland
Posts: 1659
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Mon Apr 23, 2012 6:00 pm

Hi,


Can you tell the exact message you receive or send me a screenshot with it?



smc1979
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 10:57 am

Postby smc1979 » Tue Apr 24, 2012 8:06 am

Sure. As soon as it happens again from one of my customers at their home I will ask them to get a screen shot.


It happens randomly which is odd.


Message was "Would you like to backup?"


Yet on other days it doesnt show.


Thanks again

Shane



smc1979
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 10:57 am

Postby smc1979 » Tue Apr 24, 2012 8:27 pm

Got an email from multiple people today.


Instead of the backup asking if they wanted to backup, it was just sitting at the backup screen. Say backup was successful, but it never shutdown the system like I have it set to. Yet some days it will shutdown others it wont.


Shane



Softland
Posts: 1659
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Wed Apr 25, 2012 6:46 pm

Hi,


What is different in those days?




Return to “Troubleshooting”