unwanted files being backed up

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
Post Reply
fitness88
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 5:55 pm

Post by fitness88 »

Using Fbackup 4.7 with mirror backup, WIN 7/64

Unselected files by me are having check marks automatically put beside them and are being backed up. An example would be new programs installed on my computer have check marks put automatically in source files to back up.

How can I stop that?

Thank you.


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1685
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
If you added to your source the list the folder C: all files and folders under C folder will be automatically included in backup.
To avoid that, you need to add only the files and folders you need to back up, not the entire main folder.


fitness88
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 5:55 pm

Post by fitness88 »

"If you added to your source the list the folder C: all files and folders under C folder will be automatically included in backup.
To avoid that, you need to add only the files and folders you need to back up, not the entire main folder."
I did just that...only the files and folders I wanted to back up, not the entire main folder.

Thank you for your response.


fitness88
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 5:55 pm

Post by fitness88 »

CORRECTION:

I choose c: drive but only checked off individual selected folders and files.


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1685
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

That is totally different.

If you uncheck some files and folders, you indicate that you don't want those specific files and folders to be included in backup.

New files and folders will be automatically included in backup.


fitness88
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 5:55 pm

Post by fitness88 »

"That is totally different.

If you uncheck some files and folders, you indicate that you don't want those specific files and folders to be included in backup.

New files and folders will be automatically included in backup."
Actually, when a check mark is put in a folder or file box only those folders and/or files will be backed up. This is exactly what happens with every backup and that's the way it should happen...but it seems when a new program gets installed, the folder from the new installation will have a check mark beside it automatically, which is not what I want.
Thank you for your reply.


Post Reply