Won't run scheduled

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
anelho
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:53 am

Post by anelho »

Hi,
I have a full backup set to run at noon each day, being saved to an external drive. Problem is, the backup never runs on its own. In fact, the only way it will run at all is if I go under properties, then destination, local hard drive, then click though every folder in the path, right through to the zip file. The error I get is "cannot create destination directory... Cannot find path specified." I was able to get it to run once on schedule, by clicking though the paths 10 minutes before the backup started. Reality is, I am not able to do that every day. Do you have any solutions?


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1672
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
Is the external drive directly connected to your computer?
Does it have the same drive letter every time you connect it to your computer?


anelho
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:53 am

Post by anelho »

Hi,
No it is not directly connected. The computer is on a network, and the drive is shared. It connects automatically when a user logs into the computer and it does always have the same letter.


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1672
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
Do you use mapped drive path or UNC path to access the destination in FBackup?


anelho
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:53 am

Post by anelho »

I believe it is mapped drive path. Also, the drive is still considered a local hard drive.


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1672
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
Please try using UNC paths.


anelho
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:53 am

Post by anelho »

okay, thanks


anelho
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:53 am

Post by anelho »

After looking into it more, I've discovered that the big issue is FBackup not being able to connect to the drive. Any of the drives really. On a different computer, I looked at the destination under local hard drive, and it has a menu of different drives. On my computer, the only way to fill this menu is to start under the C drive and click though to the drive, and then to the final destination folder.


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1672
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
Do you use an administrator account?


anelho
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:53 am

Post by anelho »

yep.


Post Reply