Page 1 of 1

Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 6:24 pm
by Kik55

Hi,

I have use FBackup 4.6.259 to backup my photos and some other stuff. After houres I controled the backup and, to my surprise I see some differents. FBackup didn't copy some files...... Hopley FB has backup all my photos..... If necessary, I have some screenshots and the logfile from my computer to demonstrate.

Kik (not amused....)



Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 6:27 pm
by Softland

Hi,


Please open Backup Properties->Filters.

Is there any filter configured?

You can send me the log file for the last backup to info[at]fbackup[dot]com



Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 6:35 pm
by Kik55

The only filter is "tempory etc."


Kik



Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 7:01 pm
by Softland

Hi,


After receiving the catalog from our client, it seems he manually deleted the files from destination. In such a case, FBackup will not copy the manually deleted files again and again. FBackup is using the backup catalog to compare and determine which files will be backed up.

It is supposed you don't manually delete the backup files.



Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 9:41 am
by PeterB

Hi there


I was just browsing through the forum and found this post interesting.


Does this mean that if I manually edit the destination drive (for a non-encrypted mirror-type backup) and remove a backed-up file, that file will not be copied across again during subsequent scheduled backups?

Or would this maybe be conditional on whether the source file of that location\name becomes modified (newer time stamp?) since the original file was copied?


Either way -- have you considered an option that could be selected clarifying which behavior a user should expect?

Something like:

[tick] Do not re-backup unmodified files manually removed from destination drive.



Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 6:32 pm
by Softland

Hi,


Fbackup was not designed to work this way. It uses the backup catalog not to compare each time the source with destination.



Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 5:15 am
by PeterB

OK -- thanks :)