Page 1 of 1

No Files In Backup Destination, But Memory Used

Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2024 6:12 am
by gaugs
Hello. I started a backup to a brand new 2 TB thumb drive (1.9 TB effective), excluding system files (Windows 10) using fbackup 9. It ran for about 3 days before the computer locked up. I had to reboot. Lost the backup, and there are no files on the thumb drive. However, even though there are no files on it, there is now only 1.19 TB free of the 1.9 TB drive total. Can't delete anything because there are no files to delete. Even tried uninstalling fbackup. Didn't help. How can I free up the the approx .7 TB that is now unavailable on the thumb drive after the failed backup? I'm flummoxed. Thanks in advance for any advice you can give.

Re: No Files In Backup Destination, But Memory Used

Posted: Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:54 am
by Adrian (Softland)
Hi,

The files on destination should be visible.
If you have no other important files there, please try to format the destination drive. That will remove all files from it.

Re: No Files In Backup Destination, But Memory Used

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2024 9:13 am
by goofydand
gaugs wrote:
Wed Mar 27, 2024 6:12 am
Hello. I started a backup to a brand new 2 TB thumb drive (1.9 TB effective), excluding system files (Windows 10) using fbackup 9. It ran for about 3 days before the computer locked up. I had to reboot. Lost the backup, and there are no files on the thumb drive. However, even though there are no files on itbasketball legends, there is now only 1.19 TB free of the 1.9 TB drive total. Can't delete anything because there are no files to delete. Even tried uninstalling fbackup. Didn't help. How can I free up the the approx .7 TB that is now unavailable on the thumb drive after the failed backup? I'm flummoxed. Thanks in advance for any advice you can give.
Hello. If only 1.19 TB is empty in about 1.9T, the remaining data may be system data. You should carefully check the destination drive to see if there are important files before deleting it. Or if you don't see any unnecessary files, it's best not to delete anything else.