Cannot backup Directly to Root Menu

You can ask general questions, share opinions or advices about FBackup
protocol77
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 2:29 am

Postby protocol77 » Sat May 21, 2011 9:36 am

hi i just found this program today and its great the only problem i have is i have a bunch of videos i store on a hard drive offline and i plug it into a docking station to add new videos as i get them to it


when i select an entire folder "Videos" and try to do a mirror backup (no need to do a full backup as all my videos except for the last week are already on there so just need to skip the ones already backed up and only add the new ones) it starts backing up but i find that instead of copying from e:/videos to G:/ root directory it creates a folder on the backup drive called E (as in the source drive letter) instead of copying the files to just the root directory i have tried turning off the Create full paths in the mirror options but it just then creates a folder called Videos (as in the source folders name) instead so it will not copy directly to main root directory where i have


G:/video1.avi

G:/video2.avi


etc.....


it is putting either


G:/E/video1.avi


or


G:/Videos/video1.avi



Softland
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Wed May 25, 2011 1:25 pm

Hi,


Removing that is not possible in FBackup, but only in our commercial edition: Backup4all.

You can download and test it from here.



protocol77
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 2:29 am

Postby protocol77 » Wed May 25, 2011 2:14 pm

thankyou i will look at that right now


also can i ask is it possible with either software to install it on a home file server schedule a daily backup using the mirror option and it will simple check for files on the source that have not been added to the destination


for eg.


if i have video1.avi and video2.avi on source drive on 1 pc and only video1.avi on a file server connect on the same LAN could it schedule to check at 7pm each day and if it sees that video1.avi is on the file server but not video2.avi could it skip making a a copy of video1.avi and jump directly to video2.avi and just copy that over leaving video1.avi untouched as it was copied on the file server at yesterdays scheduled backup


the reason i ask is i have huge amount of videos at least 1TB worth and would not want to have to transfer 1tb of videos over the network each day overwriting the same files over and over again


i like your simple GUI of your program but that is one thing that would prevent me from purchasing your professional software version if i could not do this function


Also just tried Backup4All and it still includes the folder i have the folder that has all my stuff in it called "Copy To External" and when i set backup i go into properties and untick create full path and use subfolders but it still when backing up to external hard drive creates a subfolder called "Copy To External" and backups up the files to that and see as all the other files are in the root directory it is basically making two copies on the external drive because it is not detecting files that are already on there and skipping those ones and just adding the newly created files



Softland
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Thu May 26, 2011 5:38 pm

Hi,


Yes, you can do that to copy only new files to destination.

Please note the first backup will be a complete one, all files will be copied. After that only new files will be copied.

FBackup is looking in the backup catalog (not in destination) to determine which files needs to be backed up.




Return to “General”