Files and folders from the network not allowed...

You can ask general questions, share opinions or advices about FBackup
Post Reply
ChrisA
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 10:02 am

Post by ChrisA »

Seem to have successfully downloaded and installed FBackup4 to my Windows-XP desktop.

But I get the topic message when I try to add a folder from our LAN in the New Backup Wizard dialog! (Same happens in Advanced Mode dialog.)
Is FBackup not for networks? (in which case I didn't see this mentioned in the website's overview?).
Otherwise, I've checked that the LAN is user accessible (logged-in with password) and top-level folders list OK.
Am I missing something here?
Regards,

Chris Aldridge


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1681
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
Adding files and folders from network sources is not allowed in FBackup.

If you need that feature, we recommend you our commercial product: Backup4all.


Awethentic
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 7:30 am
Contact:

Post by Awethentic »

Dear Admin,
I installed your commercial product Backup4all Lite and tried to add a folder from a network and it is still not allowed.
Wot to do?
Cheers.
A


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1681
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
That feature is not included in the Lite edition of Backup4all

You need to try Standard or Professional edition.

Please see here a comparison matrix with the features included in each edition: http://www.backup4all.com/en/compare-products.html


Patrick
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 2:39 am

Post by Patrick »

Hello,
FBackup is a great product and I am just trying it out for a bit before buying Backup4all to let me use my network drive in both directions. I have been backing up my hard drive to a network drive for a couple of weeks now and it has been working great.
A couple of days ago however, the backups started aborting with:
[4/21/2011 10:16:52 PM] Error: Backup aborted. Reason:

Adding files and folders from the network is not allowed.

Backup aborted at 4/21/2011 10:16:53 PM with 1 error(s), 0 warning(s)
I had not made any changes to my source list but, even so, I rechecked it carefully and there are no network drives listed in the source. I next unchecked all source files except a single one on my hard drive and was still aborted with the same error.
Finally I created a new backup job specifying the same source set as before and that seems to be running fine, though I won't know for sure till tomorrow.
To have my backup job suddenly start aborting leaves me a bit worried as to reliability.
Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Patrick


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1681
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
No other client reported such a problem before.

Please send us to info[at]fbackup[dot]com :

- the log file from View->Job Logs->Last backup log.

- the .fkc file from View->Open Folder->Catalog Folder.

Put the files into a zip archive.


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1681
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
It seems you do have source files from network.
Please open Backup Properties->Sources

Remove the sources from T: drive as it is a mapped network drive.

Press Save and run again the backup.


Post Reply