Skipped Files

You can ask general questions, share opinions or advices about FBackup
MikeyChris
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 8:14 am

Postby MikeyChris » Wed May 18, 2011 2:44 pm

During last night's back up two files were skipped. The following is from the log:


[5/18/2011 2:10:11 AM] Warning: Skipping file C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\Microsoft\CardSpace\CardSpaceSP2.db

Access is denied (TLFNFileStream.CreateFile) (srFileOpenError)

[5/18/2011 2:10:11 AM] Warning: Skipping file C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\Microsoft\CardSpace\CardSpaceSP2.db.shadow

Access is denied (TLFNFileStream.CreateFile) (srFileOpenError)


I don't even know what CARDSPACE is, so don't know if it was open or not. But even if it was open, should FB have done a shadow copy?


Thanx



Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Wed May 25, 2011 2:09 pm

Hi,


FBackup will copy those files if several conditions are met. You need to use an administrator account and the Volume Shadow Copy service to work properly.


Can you manually copy those files to another location?



MikeyChris
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 8:14 am

Postby MikeyChris » Thu May 26, 2011 3:23 pm

I always login as "owner" and owner is an administrator. However, when I tried to copy those files I was denied access. I think I ended up taking possession of the files and then I could copy them. It made no sense to me as I should have already had ownership of the files. Any idea what that SHADOW file is? It was a zero byte file, I erased it.



Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Thu May 26, 2011 5:48 pm

Hi,


The "Shadow" file is not created by FBackup. You need to have enough permissions to access those files in order to back them up.



MikeyChris
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 8:14 am

Postby MikeyChris » Fri May 27, 2011 5:15 pm

The "Shadow" file is not created by FBackup. You need to have enough permissions to access those files in order to back them up.


Is there a higher permission thna owner? Owner is listed in the administrator group, so I would have thought that was a good as it gets.

Thanx.



Softland
Posts: 1666
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Mon May 30, 2011 5:37 pm

Hi,


You need to know how the "owner" is configured on your computer and if it has enough permissions.




Return to “General”