Windows 8 Freezes or Hangs

You can ask general questions, share opinions or advices about FBackup
flipper
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 12:52 pm

Postby flipper » Mon Dec 03, 2012 7:59 pm

Just bought a new computer. I've been using Fbackup for years and no issues. This computer has Windows 8 64-bit Pro I believe.


The computer worked perfect very very fast till Fbackup was installed. After that I could not do anything. Even after reboots which could only be done manually by holding down the power button.


If after restarting and I did it fast enough I could remove the software. Once removed the computer worked perfect again. Is there a Windows 8 compatablity issue?



Softland
Posts: 1659
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Tue Dec 04, 2012 10:30 am

Hi,


We do not have such problems here under Windows 8.

Do you have the same problem with other applications?



irongamer
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 6:03 pm

Postby irongamer » Tue Dec 11, 2012 1:07 am

I have the same problem. I just installed the latest version of FBackup and it locks up Windows 8. I have to do a hard reboot.


I do have a solid state drive for the OS. As such the drive has the following services disabled: super fetch, defragmentation, and the indexing service. Also AHCI mode is enabled on the motherboard and enabled in Windows 8 (which did take a manual registry edit). I don't know if these would affect FBackup's behavior.


No other applications cause this type of freeze. I also tried running FBackup as Administrator and in various comparability modes. No dice. =(



Softland
Posts: 1659
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Tue Dec 11, 2012 7:47 pm

Hi,


Did you installed a clean Windows 8 or you upgraded from Windows 7?



irongamer
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 6:03 pm

Postby irongamer » Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:37 am

It was a clean install.



ricardo
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:24 pm

Postby ricardo » Wed Dec 26, 2012 1:59 am

I also have windows 8 with clean install. it seems to freeze when you open fbackup. but if you wait long enough (10 minutes? i really don't know how long, i just go for a snack) it opens normally.



ricardo
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:24 pm

Postby ricardo » Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:38 pm

timed the waiting: 12 minutes.



Softland
Posts: 1659
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:31 pm

Hi,


Does it happen the same every time when you open FBackup?




Return to “General”