Can not set backup to correct drive

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
magicgraywolf
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 3:43 am

Can not set backup to correct drive

Postby magicgraywolf » Thu Feb 13, 2014 6:17 pm

I installed version 5 Build 358, at least I tried. It kept giving me errors, and finally had me download 5 Build 358 Full. Now every time I open FBackup it wants me to install the first download. So I do not know for sure which version I have or should be using. the help page says 5 build 358.

Also I have made two backups now. The first one, would not go to my D drive as I wanted it to. I it changed the destination to my external drive E. The one I did last night I put Drive D, and it installed on Drive C. I don't want it stored on my main drive. Can anybody help me with these issues. ASAP as I would like to do a full back up to my D Drive.[/b]

magicgraywolf
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 3:43 am

Re: Can not set backup to correct drive

Postby magicgraywolf » Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:26 pm

So much for getting answers out of anybody in this forum. or even getting anybody to read and reply to my question.

Jim Rockford
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:19 pm

Re: Can not set backup to correct drive

Postby Jim Rockford » Wed Feb 19, 2014 6:38 pm

magicgraywolf wrote:So much for getting answers out of anybody in this forum. or even getting anybody to read and reply to my question.



All I can do is sympathize brother. I made the fatal error of installing the destructive build 358 and it effectively made it impossible for me to boot into two of my desktops. On one desktop I was fortunate enough to have an old enough registry backup and was able to revert to that. On another machine, I first attempted to uninstall 358 - an unclean uninstall - and now each time I attempt to install 359 I get unusual errors. Basically, FBackup still thinks the old 358 is installed and continually gets hung up.

There is almost no useful information on these forums any more. Whenever I do pay for a professional version of backup software, it won't be to Softland, that's for sure. Why should I believe the technical service would be any better after an upgrade?

magicgraywolf
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 3:43 am

Re: Can not set backup to correct drive

Postby magicgraywolf » Thu Feb 20, 2014 5:57 am

Jim, thanks for the update. So have you decided which program your going to use? I have tried and tried to get Windows backup to work but it will not do anything in windows 7 so that is why I was looking for something else that I could rely on. What really burns my bacon is that so many sites anymore, even windows makes it so hard to get help, and your right, Forums are not worth the power to blow them up.

Softland
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: Can not set backup to correct drive

Postby Softland » Fri Feb 21, 2014 10:01 am

Hi,

I recommend you to uninstall FBackup from Control Panel, as I suspect, there is an old installation on that computer which was not overwritten or something.
Please install build 360 of FBackup and see if you still have the problem with the restart.


Return to “Troubleshooting”