Could not create Volume Shadow Copy

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
Post Reply
swany971
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:17 pm

Post by swany971 »

Hello,
Credit to the maker of FBackup, it's been a huge help to me. I've been having an intermittent problem though since upgrading to 4.5.229 and replacing my external backup drive (prior to that I think I was about one year behind on updates). I have a nightly backup setup and I sometimes get the following error message in my backup logs :
" Could not create Volume Shadow Copy. Locked files will not be copied. Cannot connect to the vss server. The system cannot find the file specified "
When I first got the error I followed the instructions here : http://www.backup4all.com/download/pdf/ ... ervice.pdf and things worked fine for about two weeks. Today I see the error message again. Each time I get the error, I am able to manually run the backup without problems. I can't figure out why this is happening at such random times. It's important that I get files backed up that are in use, because Outlook and Quickbooks are open almost 24/7 on my pc. I just installed 4.5.232 today since I see that is the latest version now. Has there been any bug fixes that would correct my problem?
Thanks,

Andrew


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1764
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
Please make sure the Volume Shadow Copy service is started and set to Manual in Start->Control Panel->Administrative tools->Services
Backing up open files has the following limitations: It works

- only on Windows XP, Windows 2003 Server, Windows Vista or Windows 7

- only for users with administrator access rights to copy open files

- only on local hard drives

- only on NTFS formatted partitions

- only if the VSS (Volume Shadow Service) is running and it is properly configured

Do you know you can monitor your backups remotely with Backup4all Monitor? You can read more here: https://www.backup4all.com/backup4all-monitor.html

swany971
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:17 pm

Post by swany971 »

Hello,
When I first encountered this problem about three weeks ago the Volume Shadow Copy service was already set at Manual. By switching it to Automatic, it worked for two weeks, then I had the error once again. So I don't think it makes a difference Manual or Automatic. Nevertheless, my issue is not a serious one. If I let it go and do nothing, the next night's scheduled backup runs fine.
Thanks,

Andrew


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1764
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
It seems there is a problem on your computer.

Another application seems to change the settings.

Do you know you can monitor your backups remotely with Backup4all Monitor? You can read more here: https://www.backup4all.com/backup4all-monitor.html

Post Reply