Splitting zip file

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
Post Reply
L Thompson
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 2:01 pm

Post by L Thompson »

I've been using fbackup for awhile. I just reinstalled it again the other day after having to rebuild be system and things seemed to be working OK but I'm seeing "Splitting zip file" note appear at the bottom of the screen and the back up takes at least twice as long to run.
In the destination folder (removable) I see the normal 3.9 Gb backup zip and a Z01 type file.
Why did it start doing this?


Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1681
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,
As it appears you never seen a .z01 file in destination before, that means the new backup is larger than the previous backup(s).

Please note if the destination drive is formatted as FAT32, it cannot support files larger than 4 GB. That is why the zip file is automatically split into smaller files of max 4GB.

The .z01 file is a split part of the main .zip file.


Ananka
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 2:08 am

Post by Ananka »

Isn't that wonderful? I'm just elated with that reply. Just elated!!! Thank you so much for this!!!


Post Reply